2016 Joint ASM Hobart

ASM Header 900


Greetings to all HBPRCA Members!

It is an enormous honour to take up the role of your new President. As a member and attendee at every Annual Scientific Meeting since 1991, I am immensely grateful to the Association for the tremendous support it has contributed towards the development of my career. Hence, although the task feels daunting, I’m excited to take this opportunity to “give back”.

Blessed with an outstanding Executive Committee who have already impressed me with their commitment and enthusiasm, I am looking forward greatly to the next three years. Strategies are already being mapped out and new initiatives planned. An urgent item on the agenda is the selection of Speakers for the next ASM and we welcome your suggestions on this (and or course any other aspects of the HBPRCA that you feel should be addressed).

I can’t thank enough Jaye Chin-Dusting, our outgoing President, for leaving the Association in such a heathy state. She and her Executive have left behind a legacy of admirable initiatives and ASMs, with the most recent in Hobart being one of the best. The science and program structure were superb, the invited speakers second to none, and the dinner hugely enjoyed by all who attended. The bar has well and truly been set – thank you Jaye and the team!

Now please enjoy a summary of the 2016 ASM prepared by our wonderful Secretariat…

Best regards,

Michael Stowasser

The Joint ASM took place in Hobart at Hotel Grand Chancellor Hobart from 7 Dec to 10 Dec 2016.

The program was created jointly by the Program Managers from each of the participating societies following receipt of over 180 abstracts. Huge thank yous to Anne Barden – HBPRCA, Heather Medbury – AAS and Mary Kavurma – AVBS for their hard work creating such a wonderful meeting.

Joint ASM Awards Dinner-9140

Heather Medbury, Anne Barden, Mary Kavurma, Michael Stowasser

Click here to view the program including all speaker biographies.

The meeting kicked off with a very successful Young Investigator Symposium that was organised by Francine Marques and Aliki Rasmiena and covered topics like media training and research translation into innovation and policies, to name a couple. This was followed by networking drinks.

The Welcome reception followed for all registered delegates with poster viewing, drinks and canapes. 

We were very fortunate to hear from the following HBPRCA keynote invited speakers throughout the meeting:

RD Wright invited Lecturer: Prof. Sir Nilesh J Samani, UK

Nilesh Samani is British Heart Foundation Professor of Cardiology and Head of the Department of Cardiovascular Sciences at the University of Leicester. He is also Director of the Leicester National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Biomedical Research Unit in Cardiovascular Disease and Consultant Cardiologist at the Cardiac Centre, Glenfield Hospital, Leicester.

Colin I Johnston invited Lecturer: Prof. Chris Semsarian

Chris Semsarian is a cardiologist with a specific research focus in the genetic basis of cardiovascular disease. Prof. Semsarian trained at the University of Sydney, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, and Harvard Medical School. A focus area of his research is in the investigation and prevention of sudden cardiac death in the young, particularly amongst children and young adults. Prof. Semsarian has an established research program which is at the interface of basic science and clinical research, with the ultimate goal to prevent the complications of genetic heart diseases in our community. Prof. Semsarian is the director of two speciality clinics at RPAH: The Genetic Heart Disease and Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy Clinics.

Austin Doyle invited Lecturer: Prof. Alan Cooper, SA

Alan Cooper has been an Australian Research Council Federation and Future Fellow (2005-2010, 2011-2014), during which time he has specialized in the genetic analysis of evolution, biodiversity,climate change, paleoecology and microbiomes.

American Heart Association Awardee: Dr Justin Grobe, USA

British Hypertension Association Awardee: Iris Hardege, UK

Joint ASM Awards Dinner-9138

Chris Semsarian, Justin Grobe, Iris Hardege, Nilesh Samani, Michael Stowasser

In addition to the HBPRCA invited speakers we also heard from the AVBS and AAS invited speakers:

Prof. Kathy Griendling, USA

Prof. Jean Pierre Despres, Canada

A/Prof. Jonathan Shaw

Prof. Craig Anderson

Dr Christina Bursill

Dr Anna Calkin

Prof. Ruth Ganss

Dr Justin Hamilton

Prof. Nick King

Dr Renjing Liu

Dr Anna Waterhouse

A major highlight of the Joint ASM was the Conference Awards Dinner, set on Elizabeth Pier with beautiful harbour views. It was fantastic to see all of the award winners recognised by their peers.

The HBPRCA winners from the 2016 Joint ASM 

Joint ASM Awards Dinner-9093

Denise Demmer, Michael Stowasser

Robert Vandongen award winner – Denise Demmer 






Joint ASM Awards Dinner-9068

Waled Shihata, Michael Stowasser

Student Poster award – Waled Shihata





Joint ASM Awards Dinner-9065

Quynh Nhu Dinh, Michael Stowasser

Student Oral award winner and AHA nominee – Quynh Nhu Dinh, Quynh will attend Hypertension 2017 in San Francisco to give an oral presentation.




Joint ASM Awards Dinner-9086

Mark Butlin, Michael Stowasser

Early Career Researcher Poster award – Mark Butlin

Supported by Clinical Science




Joint ASM Awards Dinner-9083

Rachel Climie, Michael Stowasser

Early Career Researcher Oral award winner and BHS Nominee – Rachel Climie, Rachel will attend the BHS 2017 in Glasgow, Scotland to give an oral presentation.




We hope to see you at the next HBPRCA ASM in December 2017 – keep your eye out for more details about our next event shortly.


HBPRCA Annual Scientific Meeting 2015 winners

Robert Vandongen award winner – Dagmara Hering,

Student Poster award winner – Suzanne Pears

Student Oral award winner and BHS nominee – Megan Evans. Megan will attend the BHS 2016 meeting in Dublin – click here to read Megan’s report on her experience.

Early Career Researcher Poster award, supported by Clinical Science – Francine Marques

Early Career Researcher Oral award and AHA Nominee – Claudia McCarthy. Claudia will attend AHA Hypertension 2016 in Orlando Florida