Early Career Researcher Initiatives

Early Career Researcher Led Events

The Hypertension Winter School is a free online event that aims to provide an educational overview on the pathophysiology, management and treatment of hypertension.

Internationally renowned speakers include: President of the HBPRCA, Prof. Markus Schlaich (The University of Western Australia), President of the International Society of Hypertension, Prof. Alta Schutte (University of New South Wales) and short Blitz presentations from HBPRCA students and ECRs.

This is a two half day event via Zoom:

1pm to 5pm AEST, Thursday 16th July

1pm to 5pm AEST, Friday 17th July

We encourage all hypertension researchers and health professionals nationally and internationally — including students, ECRs, clinicians, allied health professionals and senior researchers– to register for the Hypertension Winter School.

For full program click HERE.

To register for this event click HERE.

For more information please contact q.dinh@latrobe.edu.au or hamdi.jama@monash.edu.au

Click HERE to download a flyer for the event

Early Career Researcher Symposia

At APCH this year the Early Career Researcher Committee are also running a Early Career Researcher Symposium with ISH, speakers are listed below

Prof Grant Drummond – Research Impact
Prof Alta Schutte – Tips for maintaining work/life balance
Prof Alun Hughes – Building international collaborations

Mentor / Mentee Program

In 2018 the HBPRCA Early Career Researcher Committee launched a fantastic initiative – the HBPRCA Mentor / Mentee Program. In this program, highly experienced mentors volunteer to mentor young Investigators around the country. Each Mentor is paired with their more junior counterpart for advice and support, and there are now 23 Mentor / Mentee pairs around the country!

Click HERE to view the Mentoring Program application form!



Research Exchange Grants

Established in 2019 the aim of these research exchange grants is to support Early Career Researchers to spend some time in an international lab to learn a new skill or build their own independent collaborations. This fantastic initiative, proposed by the YI committee and supported by the Council will allow up to 2 Early Career Researchers to  receive a grant each year valued at $3000 AUD to further their international experience.


Must be a current financial member of the HBPRCA
Must have been a member of the HBPRCA for at least 2 years (student membership included)
Must be no more than 5 years post-PhD
Must have agreement from a supervisor that they will be available to supervise the exchange as outlined in the application


Fully completed application form
Applicant CV (4 pages max)
Requirement to write a report on the benefits of the exchange

Future Initiatives

Off the back of the extremely popular APSH Summer School Program, the Early Career Researcher Committee, along with the HBP Council are establishing a Winter School program from 2020 – watch this space for further details.

To contact the Early Career Researcher Committee or apply for any of the programs above please email admin@yoursecretariat.com.au

Share this page or post